356 Tactical Transport Squadron

356 Μοίρα Τακτικών Μεταφορών (356 ΜΤΜ)


Display: The mythical figure of Hercules with the HAF emblem in the background


112 Combat Wing – Elefsina Air Base



Aircraft served

  • C-47 Dakota
  • NAMC YS-11A

Aircraft serving

  • Lockheed C-130H Hercules


The Squadron’s mission is to conduct tactical and operational air transfers for the HAF and other branches of the Hellenic Armed Forces. It also takes part in Serch & Rescue operations, Aerial firefighting, Health rescue operations.


On December 19th 1953, the 356 Tactical Transport Squadron was established at Eleusis Airbase under the command of 113 Combat Wing in Thessaloniki. It was equipped with fifteen (15) Transport Aircrafts C-47 Dakota.

In February 1954, the Squadron moved from Eleusis Airbase to Thessaloniki at Sedes Airbase. In 1970’s for a short period of time Squadron suspended its operations based on operational requirements.

In October 1975, Squadron re-established Eleusis Air Force Base, by joining its force with twelve (12) C-130 Hercules aircrafts. The first C-130 landed in Greece on September 29, 1975, with Greek crews trained in the US.

From November 1980 until June 1982, the Squadron fleet was increased by six (6) YS-11 aircrafts, for the purpose of personnel transfer and radio aids control. These aircrafts were acquired by Olympic Airways at the time.

In September 1992, Squadron obtained five (5) C-130B aircrafts.

On July 14th and 15th, 2007, 356 Tactical Transport Squadron represented the Air Force, with one (1) C-130 aircraft, at the ROYAL INTERNATIONAL AIR TATTOO Air Show (RIAT 2007), which landed at the Fairford Air Force Base in Gloucestershire, England. The Squadron aircraft received the first Topics and Imagery Award for best static theme.

The 356th Tactical Transport Squadron, under the slogan “Wherever – Whenever”, has carried out a huge national and social task locally and abroad, accomplishing missions to more than 74 countries all over the world. Such as:


England, Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Yugoslavia, Denmark, Switzerland, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Netherlands, Norway, Netherlands, Poland Russia, Skopje, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic.


Egypt, Ethiopia, Algeria, Eritrea, Zaire, Cameroon, Kenya, Libya, Malawi, Burundi, Namibia, South Africa, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, Djibouti, Tunisia.


Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia, United Arab Emirates, India, Jordan, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Cyprus, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey.


United States of America (USA), Canada, Mexico.